Friday frustration

I’m feeling a little frustrated this morning.  It comes with the territory.

If you read my “About” section, you will know that I handle communications for a relatively small marine research laboratory. Because we are so small, a major goal of mine is simply to get our name out there and let people know what we do. Too often, many people assume we are a part of the University of Georgia. We are not. We are an autonomous unit of the University System of Georgia. Our only affiliation with UGA is that we are both part of the state university system.

I was quite happy yesterday when I got an email that an op-ed (opinion essay) I had sent to the state’s major metropolitan daily newspaper was going to be published today. In my world, this is a big deal.

As soon as I got to work this morning, I accessed the newspaper’s Web site and located the opinion section. Sure enough, there it was. And tagged at the end of the piece was this.

“(Our scientist/author) is a professor at the Skidaway Institute of Oceanography, a research unit of the University of Georgia.”

It makes me want to take a walk to the end of our dock and just keep walking. Ugh!!!

5 responses to “Friday frustration

  1. It can be tough when something like this doesn’t go as you planned. No clarifications will ever make this better for you.

  2. Glass half-full section: your op-ed got in the paper.

  3. I sit in the glass half-empty section.

  4. I would be irate. But the that’s not unusual:) I’ve been quoted incorrectly so many times in the paper that I no longer trust reporters to tell the truth about anything. It really ruined my love of reading the newspaper.

  5. The older I get, the more I realize that the media is so full of inaccuracies that you have to take it all with a grain of salt. I guess even your op-ed isn’t exempt.

Leave a Reply

