A working Saturday

The weekend is here, but at least for the first half, it’s going to be all work and no play for the dull boy.

The good news is the lawn mower repair went very smoothly, if you disregard the fact that I lost one of the screws. It was just a mental lapse. I reached for my camera to take a picture of the progress and laid the screw down somewhere other than bowl I had specifically brought with me for that purpose. Fortunately, we have an Ace Hardware about a mile away. One screw and six cents later (the last of the big spenders) I had a replacement screw that worked just fine.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I was really concerned about this project, but this one was just about as easy as Dale at Acme Lawn Mower Repair said it would be. Remove six screws. Lay the cover/gas tank to the side. Remove the thingy and put the new thingy in its place. (Go to hardware store and buy new screw.) Replace the screws and start it up. There was no one more surprised than I was when it didn’t blow up when I pulled the starter cord.

The Beginning

The Beginning

The Middle

The Middle

Success!!!

Success!!!

Now that the mower was working, it meant I had to actually use it. I spent the rest of the day mowing and edging the front lawn, cleaning the pool, poop patrolling the back yard and cleaning off the deck and patio.

Mrs. Poolman started to help and actually edged some of the front walk. However, Writer Princess called around mid-day and asked if she could come out and play with her. So they went off to shop, go to lunch and generally do the mother-daughter bonding thing.

I finished off the afternoon with a trip to Home Depot to get some concrete blocks and rebar to construct a dog-tunnel proof barrier under one of our fences. (This is the subject of tomorrow’s post.)

In the midst of all the yard work, some of the neighborhood kids came down and set up a lemonade stand in our front yard. We are on a fairly busy corner, while they live at the end of a cul de sac with no traffic to speak of.

Nice sign!

Nice sign!

The lemonade was really pretty lousy. It was a powder mix, warm (no ice) and only about six ounces for $.75.

At one point an older lady yelled to me asking if I had any extra ice. I think she thought the kids belonged to me. At the time I was in the midst of doing yard work in 90 degree plus sun and was not really happy. I responded:

Lady, I’m working my a** off here. Do I really look like I care about your ice? No, I’m sorry I don’t.”

Eventually, I pulled a bag of ice from our garage-freezer, put it in a cooler and gave it to the kids to improve their product quality.

The overpriced, low quality product didn’t seem to deter the customers though..What they really were selling was “cute.” It sure worked. About half way through the afternoon, one of the young ladies was dancing around and waving a fist of dollar bills in the air.

“We are rich! We have $21!”

Interesting business plan. I wonder what the child-labor folks would think of someone doing it on a larger scale?

4 responses to “A working Saturday

  1. No I told you so about the screw…but this is what I warned you about…lol!!!!!!!!

    Should have charged $5 for rent on the yard to teach the kids something about business. There is no such thing as a free location.

  2. I had the best of intentions. I brought out a bowl and a couple of plastic baggies for the screws and parts. It was just a mental f*rt. Thanks for the advice.

  3. Thingy? Must be a technical term 🙂

Leave a Reply

