It’s not that tough

When I arrived at work this morning, I found my office was the victim of last night’s rain storm. This is the second time this week, this has happened. CeilingI should have learned, but I thought the problem had been repaired. Fortunately the damage was limited to the area immediately adjacent to one wall, so it wasn’t too bad. Our IT guys are getting tired of drying out my printer and told me to take better care. Good thought!

The source of this problem is the on-going re-roofing project on our building. Until the leak, the only problem associated with this project is the lovely aroma of hot tar that has permeated our building for two weeks. There have been days when the tar-smell hit you in the face and knocked you back a step when you walked through the door. One of our scientists stuck his head in my office the other day and said, “Now I know what a mastodon felt like when he got stuck in the LaBrea tar pits.”

My office is behind the fan, which, fortunately, is blowing away from the wondow.

My office is behind the fan, which, fortunately, is blowing away from the wondow.

Before I started feeling sorry for myself, I thought – I am sitting here in an air conditioned office, doing a job that doesn’t require a lot of heavy lifting. Why am I complaining? I could be one of those guys who are up on the roof on a 93 degree day, spreading hot tar. This isn’t so bad.

All of which brings me to my two points:

1. Everything is relative.

2. I think most people are about as happy as they allow themselves to be.

In the grand scheme of things, I am extremely blessed. Sometimes I have to remind myself of that. You can focus on the “what could/should have been,” or you can step back and realize how good you have it.

I don’t want to discount legitimate causes of unhappiness. There things that happen in life that cannot help but adversely affect any normally functioning person – a serious illness, a death in the family, a job loss, a divorce, and so on.

There are lots of folks who don’t need a life-catastrophe, to destroy their karma. They do a pretty good job of it all by themselves. They have a pretty good life by almost any standards, but they are never happy. They walk around with a little black cloud hanging over their head. Sometimes people like that make me crazy. At first, I want to commiserate with them and try to cheer them up. Then I realize – what’s the point? No amount of external influences will improve the disposition of someone who is determined to be unhappy.

Note to self: shut up and stop your whining! To quote Terri, Terri, “Life is good!”

3 responses to “It’s not that tough

  1. Roofs were not meant to be flat…or with holes in them. These types of roofs are just a flawed design.

  2. 🙂 I was thinking as I read this that it sounded like something I might write! (And the reason I try to write “Life is Good” posts is because if I don’t, I have a tendency to want to carry one of those little black clouds around with me.) Thanks for the plug!

Leave a Reply

