Low standards

Mrs. Poolman and I had a conversation yesterday that gave me something to think about.

It started when she called me at work in the late afternoon. She said that the staff in her intensive care unit was planning a group lunch today. Her assignment was to bring a couple pounds of meat for tacos. She asked if I would pick up some ground beef on the way home.

An aside here – Mrs. Poolman is an RN who works 12 hour shifts in an intensive care unit. When she works one of her three shifts a week, she is out of the house at 6:20 am and doesn’t return until after 7:30 pm. When she works back-to-back shifts, like yesterday and today, she isn’t interested in running errands on the way home. Understandable.

TacoMeat1lgSo, of course, I said I would do so and offered to cook the meat also. No big deal. I get home between 5:30 and 6 pm and have time in the evening to take care of that.  Besides, what’s the big deal about browning some ground beef?

I stopped at Publix and picked up two pounds of ground chuck and taco spice packets. I cooked it up when I got home and left it for Mrs. Poolman to pack as she wanted for the next day.

When Mrs. Poolman arrived home close to 8 pm, she told me the other nurses were astounded when she mentioned that no only would I stop at the grocery store, but I would also cook the meat for her. One nurse asked if she could have first dibs on me if Mrs. Poolman should happen to die anytime soon. Huh?

All this made me wonder about these nurses’ husbands. Do they not do things like that for their wives? Apparently not.

Have the standards for “good husband” sunk so low that cooking a pan of ground chuck constitutes grounds for canonization? That’s kind of sad. On the other hand, it makes me look good by comparison. It doesn’t hurt to have Mrs. Poolman’s co-workers telling her what a sterling example of a husband I am.

Rock on, brothers!

6 responses to “Low standards

  1. Way to go. A real man loving and taking care of his wife. You rock!

    I write a blog about being a man just like you are. I hope you will check it out and spread the word.

    http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

    Thanks,

  2. I am going to start cutting back on helping.

  3. Yes, sadly, there are women out there whose husbands wouldn’t even consider doing such a thing for them. A little give and take is becoming a thing of the past.

  4. Considering the crazy hours Mrs. Poolman works it was a MAN thing to do! Good Work Mike! Feel sure that if I worked those hours my guy would have done the same…..very few of you left! Bless Ya!

Leave a Reply

