Merry Christmas!

It is a slow and quiet day around Casa Poolman this Christmas. This is Mrs. Poolman’s year to work both Christmas Eve and Christmas. At the nurses request, several years ago her ICU started scheduling holidays so that one crew worked both Christmas Eve and Christmas and the other half had both days off. They alternate Thanksgiving and Christmas and year to year. This year, Mrs. P was off the entire Thanksgiving weekend, but had to work 12-hour shifts yesterday and today.

Both the children are spending the first half of the day with their in-laws (Writer Princess) and the GF’s family (Poolboy.) They will all be coming over here in the late afternoon. We’ll open presents and then have dinner after Mrs. P gets home around 730 pm.

This is actually the quietest Christmas I have had since Mrs. Poolman and I were married. In past years, when Mrs. P was working, we still had large groups of her family come for a “house party weekend.” Some of those were totally crazy. Too bad I wasn’t blogging back then. There were some great stories.

Everyone is spread to the four-corners this year. No sweat. If I had a house full of company, I wouldn’t be able to write this blog entry. Ha!

Yesterday, I discovered my home computer was infected by a virus. I spent much of the day trying to get that squared away without success. I think I’m going to have to restore the computer to its original condition and start from scratch.

I now need to get down to some serious cooking.  Merry Christmas, everyone!

One response to “Merry Christmas!

  1. You sound very content with your quiet Christmas. I’m quite familiar with those holidays on which the spouse has to work. Sign of the times, I guess. We’ve learned too to just figure it out and work around it.

Leave a Reply

