We love our Goodwill store!

The store opened in a strip-mall in our part of town several years ago.

I don’t think we had visited it at all until a good friend and neighbor called Mrs. Poolman to say that she had been in the store and saw an entire set of our everyday stoneware dishes. Mrs. P ran right up to the store, but they were already gone. When Mrs. P mentioned to our friend that she wasn’t quite fast enough, the friend said, “Well, that was a week ago that I saw them.” Oops!

Now, hardly a week goes by that one of us doesn’t stop in for a quick survey. (Yes, we always check out the dishes first.) Over the last year or two, we have picked up some outstanding bargains at rock-bottom prices.

I had been looking for a desk chair for my home office. I found one identical to the one I have at work for $10.

Poolboy moved into a new apartment and didn’t have any lamps. I found two brass lamps for $3 each. They cost another dollar for the shade, and about $1.50 to replace the switch in one of them.

For the past several months, Mrs. P and I have been going back and forth over what to do about a freezer for our garage. We had inherited an old stand-up freezer from her parents that was so old, no one can remember when it was originally bought. It finally bit the dust a few months ago. We didn’t really want to spend a ton of money on a new full size freezer or even a combo refrigerator-freezer. I suggested a small chest-freezer which we could pick up at Sam’s Club for under $200. Mrs. P vetoed that for a number of reasons. So we have been at a stalemate.

A week or so ago, we dropped into Goodwill for our weekly survey, and, lo and behold, there was a refrigerator-freezer in the back of the store. It had no price tag or sold-sign. The manager said we could have it and quoted a price under $50.

The next day, I borrowed my friend Robin and his pick-up truck and carried the refrigerator to its new home. I plugged it in; placed a cup of water in both the refrigerator and freezer compartments; and held my breath. Two hours later both were frozen solid. Clearly, we need to adjust the thermostat, but the important thing is that it works!

I hope it is happy in its new home, because I know we’ll be happy with it.

2 responses to “We love our Goodwill store!

  1. Goodwill! We have a couple of them nearby, but it never occurred to me to go look around. I’ll definitely have to take a peek next time I drive by one.

  2. Hey, Mike. Just happened across your post and wanted to thank you for supporting Goodwill through your purchases! Glad you could find a lot of things you could use. When you shop at Goodwill, you’re also helping people in your community find work. Our mission is to take the proceeds from our store and use them for free job training, career placement and community programs for people with disadvantages, like disabilities or a lack of education. You can find out more about our mission at http://bit.ly/6UJCer and http://donate.goodwill.org. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

