Paris Day Four — Musee d’ Orsay, rue Cler & Rodin

I’m running about two days behind, because we’ve been busy enjoying our trip.

I can’t speak for everyone, but I have been having a blast. Once she got a good nights sleep, Mrs Poolman has enjoyed it more.

Today (Saturday) was a busy one and most of our merry band of travellers were pretty pooped when it was done.

We started with the Musee d’ Orsay which is home to an incredible collection of Impressionist paintings. Manet, Monet, Cezanne, Gaughin. Van Gogh. Etc. Amazing.

From there, we took the Metro to the rue Cler, a market street in the 7th Arr. (Left bank.)

We had a very nice mid-afternoon lunch  at a cafe. A fish provencile dish for Mrs P, and steak and frites for moi.

So far I’ve tried to order steak  “medium” or “bien cuit” twice in Paris. Once it came bloody rare.  This one was seriously well done. Not sure what to do next.

We finished the day at the Rodin Museum. I got Mrs P to take a picture of me with The Thinker. Didn’t see Dobie Gillis anywhere. (If you don’t recognize the reference, ask someone over 55.)

We “ate in” this evening. I took of for a long walk to explore our neighborhood. It was a lively place on a Saturday night.

image

The living room in our apt

image

image

Our tiny cooking nook

image

Inside the former train station

image

Our merry band, following their guide (me.)

image

Mrs P and me at rue Cler

image

Steak au frites

image

The Thinker(s) at Musee Rodin

image

I guess Rodin liked a party girl.

Leave a Reply

